阿聯酋仲裁法中的 7 個常見錯誤

迪拜最佳仲裁律師事務所

阿聯酋仲裁法中的 7 個常見錯誤

阿聯酋的仲裁法

阿聯酋跨境企業和貿易的增長和全球化使其成為商業、投資者和政府利益的匯聚點。 不可避免地,其中一些關係破裂,各方立即尋求解決爭議的最佳方式。 在許多情況下,這就是仲裁。

阿聯酋的法律和仲裁框架無可否認是獨特而復雜的,包括在岸和離岸、大陸法和普通法司法管轄區,以及英語和阿拉伯語的訴訟程序。

對於希望通過阿聯酋的仲裁選項解決爭議的當事方而言,選擇和考慮的絕對數量可能是壓倒性的。 儘管它提供了一系列的可能性和選項,但它也幾乎保證了出錯的可能性。

原因在於,當事方急於進入並完成這一過程並與導致一審糾紛的同樣不耐煩的情況並不少見。 從申請人的仲裁請求、程序聽證、披露、證人陳述、聽證會到最終裁決,構成仲裁程序的任何步驟和組成部分都可能出現錯誤。

每個仲裁階段都有共同的陷阱,這些陷阱會吸引眾多受害者,這就是為什麼像這樣的作品似乎不夠用。 無論如何,我們強調(無特定順序)以下段落中的一些常見錯誤; 並提供有關如何避免它們的實際步驟。

阿聯酋仲裁中的常見錯誤

在有效的仲裁過程中檢查以下常見錯誤,從起草仲裁協議、管轄權、仲裁裁決和執行。

1. 授權同意仲裁

阿聯酋法律傳統上規定,委託人必須先向代理人授予特定權力,然後該代理人才能有效地將委託人承諾到仲裁協議中。 法律要求委託人在代理協議中明確聲明代理人有權代表其訂立仲裁協議。

否則,合同中的仲裁協議存在無效和不可執行的風險。 代理人是否有權代表委託人簽署合同(但不完全是其中包含的仲裁協議)並不重要。 《仲裁法》進一步將此確定為對仲裁裁決提出質疑的理由。 國際和地區公司往往忽視這些正式要求,從而導致災難性後果。

2. 弄亂仲裁條款

仲裁程序與合同中的仲裁條款之間的密切關係使其成為一件非常棘手的事情。 起草過程中的一個小錯誤可能會導致不必要的成本和延誤,甚至會因是否存在解釋此類條款的協議而引起法庭糾紛。 從句的一些常見錯誤包括:

  • 為仲裁庭提供不合理的短期限,
  • 指定不存在或名稱錯誤或拒絕行動的機構或仲裁員行事,
  • 起草一個不完整的條款,
  • 對條款的範圍設置無意的限制, 等等.

仲裁是合同問題,起草仲裁條款可以查閱詳細的條款。 仲裁委員會頒布的若干示范仲裁條款 ICC、LCIA、ICDR UNCITRAL 和 DIAC 可供使用。 它們故意以基本形式建模(以適應各種情況),並且應該以這種形式使用而無需重新發​​明它們。

3. 濫用證人盤問

這通常發生在律師試圖使用盤問來證明他們的主要案件或未能在聽證會前計劃盤問時。 盤問也是聽證會期間律師可以使用的最有力的工具之一,但律師:

  • 在盤問中提出開放式問題,允許不利證人講述故事的“他”的一面,
  • 訴諸盤問以證明他們的主要案件,
  • 將時間浪費在盤問上 費力地挑戰證人直接詢問的每一個筆跡,尤其是在不重要的問題上。

這裡最實用的建議是準備好你的案例。 知道你想從證人那裡得到什麼,制定一個候選名單並堅持下去。 除非在不尋常的情況下,請抵制誘惑,就他或她所說的每件事對證人進行數小時的盤問。

4. 浪費機會說服仲裁員/法庭

犯此錯誤的人通常假設仲裁員分享他們對案件的了解; 未能分析和組織他們的案件; 並提交冗長的、沒有說服力的摘要。

摘要應盡可能直接和簡短。 即使仲裁員沒有對簡報設置頁數限制,最好以聯邦、州或地方簡報限製作為指導。 此外,盡量保持聽力簡短,少於 30 頁。

5. 不必要的遊戲技巧

雖然一些仲裁可能需要與訴訟相同的男子氣概,但一些律師經常採用強硬策略、混淆視聽和拖延,這對他們不利。 這些律師一般:

  • 拒絕在任何方面合作,
  • 反對對方在聽證會上提供的幾乎所有證據,
  • 在聽證會上突然“發現”關鍵展品,
  • 單方面安排證詞。

仲裁與訴訟一樣,是一個對抗性的過程; 然而,這並不是無視專業精神和文明而贊成懟懟和不合作的許可證。 最好對您的發現進行計劃,並提出一個合理滿足雙方和案件需要的相互發現計劃。

6. 假定證據規則與法庭規則相同

不幸的是,律師不花時間了解證據規則的情況太普遍了。 並提出無效的證據異議。 一般而言,適用於法庭程序的證據規則對仲裁聽證會沒有約束力。 律師應該知道有哪些規則並據此採取行動。

七、未對仲裁員進行盡職調查

最好了解您的仲裁員的專業背景和工作經歷; 了解所需的證據要素,並相應地準備您的案件。 如果您對仲裁員是您客戶所在行業或您的案件所涉及的特定法律問題的專家感到滿意,請繼續您的選擇。 同樣重要的是,他是一個聰明的人,以前經常“審理”案件,如果不是作為仲裁員,那麼作為律師。

向我們經驗豐富的仲裁專家尋求專家建議

在仲裁的運作方式和對當事人的期望方面存在很多誤解。 仲裁是一種法律程序,旨在替代訴訟。 任何司法管轄區的仲裁程序都非常複雜,需要在仲裁的所有方面和階段進行適當考慮,無論是正式的還是非正式的。 通常,對細節的關注對於專家和經驗豐富的法律專業人士來說是不典型的。

仲裁法是任何商業或商業生活中非常重要的一部分,尤其是在阿聯酋。 仲裁員的工作對於任何業務的順利運行都至關重要,尤其是在出現商業糾紛問題時。 制定您的法律選擇,然後使用 Amal Khamis Advocates & Legal Consultants 的服務來解決您可能與另一方發生的任何爭議。

Amal Khamis Advocates & Legal Consultants 是阿聯酋迪拜一家專門從事仲裁、調解和其他替代性爭議解決方法的領先律師事務所。 我們在阿聯酋擁有經驗豐富的仲裁律師和律師。  今天就聯繫我們!

回到頁首

Law Firms Dubai

7 Common Mistakes In UAE Arbitration Law

Best Arbitration Law Firms in Dubai

7 Common Mistakes In UAE Arbitration Law

Arbitration Law in the UAE

The growth and globalization of cross-border ventures and trade in the UAE have established it as a convergence point for business, investor, and government interests. Inevitably, some of these relationships break down, and parties immediately look to the best means of resolving their disputes. In many cases, that is arbitration.

The legal and arbitral framework of the UAE is admittedly unique and complex, with onshore and offshore, civil law and common law jurisdictions, and proceedings in both English and Arabic.

For parties looking to resolve disputes through the UAE’s arbitral options, the sheer number of choices and considerations to make can be overwhelming. As much as it presents an array of possibilities and options, it also almost guarantees the likelihood of error.

The reason is that it is not infrequent that parties hurry into and through this process with the same impatience that led to a dispute in the first instance.  Mistakes may occur in any of the steps and components that make up an Arbitral process, from the Claimant’s request for arbitration, procedural hearings, disclosure, witness statements, hearing, and the final award.

Each of the arbitration stages has common pitfalls that snag numerous victims, which is why a piece like this can seem inadequate. Regardless, we highlight (in no particular order) some of the common mistakes made in the paragraphs below; and provide practical steps on how to avoid them.

Common Mistakes in UAE Arbitration

Check the common mistakes below in an effective arbitration process, from drafting arbitration agreements, jurisdiction, arbitration awards, and enforcement.

1. Delegating Power to Agree to Arbitration

UAE law traditionally determines that the principal must grant specific powers to an agent before that agent can validly commit the principal to an arbitration agreement. The law requires a principal to expressly state in the agency agreement that the agent has the power to enter into an arbitration agreement on their behalf.

Otherwise, there is a real risk that the arbitration agreement in a contract is void and unenforceable. It does not matter that agent had express authority to sign the contract on behalf of the principal (but not precisely the arbitration agreement contained within it). The Arbitration Law further identifies this as a ground to challenge an arbitral award. International and regional companies often neglect these formal requirements leading to disastrous consequences.

2. Messing up the Arbitration Clause

The close relationship between the process of arbitration and the arbitration clause in a contract makes it a very tricky affair. A small mistake in drafting can lead to unnecessary costs and delays or even a court battle over the existence of an agreement to interpret such a clause. Some of the common errors with clauses include;

  • Providing unreasonably short deadlines for the tribunal,
  • Naming an institution or arbitrator to act who does not exist or is misnamed or refuses to act,
  • Drafting an incomplete clause,
  • Setting inadvertent limits on the scope of the clause, et cetera.

Arbitration is a matter of contract, and there are detailed articles one can consult on drafting arbitration clauses. Several model arbitration clauses promulgated by the ICC, LCIA, ICDR UNCITRAL, and DIAC are available for use. They are deliberately modeled in an elementary form (to cater to a range of situations) and should be used in that form without reinventing them.

3. Misusing the Cross-Examination of Witnesses

This typically occurs when lawyers try and use cross-examination to prove their case in chief or fail to plan cross-examination before the hearing. Cross-examination is also one of the most powerful tools available to counsel during the hearing, yet lawyers:

  • ask open-ended questions on cross-examination, allowing the adverse witness to tell “his” side of the story,
  • resort to cross-examination to prove their case-in-chief,
  • waste time on cross-examination laboriously challenging every jot on witness’s direct examination, especially on unimportant issues.

The most practical advice here is to prepare your case well. Know what you want to get from the witness, make a shortlist and stick to it. Except in the unusual case, please resist the temptation to grill the witness for hours on everything he or she said.

4. Wasting Opportunities to Persuade the Arbitrator/tribunal

Those who make this error generally do so by assuming that the arbitrator shares their knowledge of the case; failing to analyze and organize their case; and filing long, unpersuasive briefs.

Briefs should be as direct and as short as possible. Even if the arbitrator doesn’t place a page limit on briefs, it is best to resort to federal, state, or local brief limits as guidelines. Also, try to keep hearing brief is shorter than 30 pages.

5. Unnecessary Gamesmanship

While some arbitration can require the same macho chops as litigation, some lawyers deploy hardball tactics, obfuscation, and delay too often and to their detriment.  These lawyers generally:

  • Refuse to cooperate in any respect,
  • Object to nearly all exhibit offered at the hearing by the other side,
  • Suddenly “discover” key exhibits at the hearing,
  • Schedule depositions unilaterally.

Arbitration, like litigation, is an adversarial process; that, however, is not a license to ignore professionalism and civility in favor of chest-thumping and uncooperativeness. It is best to plan your discovery and suggest a mutual discovery plan that reasonably meets the needs of the parties and the case.

6. Assuming Rules of Evidence to Be the Same as Those in Court

Unfortunately, it is all too common that lawyers fail to take the time to understand the rules of evidence; and make ineffective evidentiary objections.  Generally, the evidentiary rules applicable to court proceedings do not bind Arbitration hearings. Counsel should know what rules there are and act accordingly.

7. Failing to Conduct Due Diligence on Arbitrator

It is best to know your arbitrator’s professional background and work history; know the elements of proof needed, and prepare your case accordingly. Go ahead with your choice if you are satisfied that the arbitrator is an expert on your client’s industry or the particular legal issues your case presents. It is also essential that he is an intelligent individual who frequently has “tried” cases before, if not as an arbitrator then as counsel.

seek Expert Advice from our Experienced Arbitration Professionals

There is a lot of misconception in the way of how arbitration works and what is expected of the party. Arbitration is a legal process that is meant to be a substitute for litigation. The arbitration process in any jurisdiction is complex enough to require due consideration at all aspects and stages of the arbitration, whether formal or informal. Usually, the required attention to detail is a feature atypical to experts and experienced legal professionals.

Arbitration law is a very vital part of any business or commercial life, particularly in the UAE. The job of an arbitrator is crucial to the smooth running of any business, particularly when issues of commercial dispute arise. Work out your legal options and then use the services of Amal Khamis Advocates to address any dispute you may have with another party.

Amal Khamis Advocates is a leading law firm specialised in arbitration, mediation and other alternative dispute resolution methods in Dubai, UAE. We have highly experienced arbitration lawyers and attorneys in the UAE.  Get in touch with us today!

Scroll to Top