如何使用阿聯酋的仲裁法來保護您的權利?

阿聯酋的聯邦仲裁法

阿聯酋仲裁法

阿聯酋的仲裁律師

他們說仲裁已經使用了幾個世紀,柏拉圖關於這個主題的一些著作流傳至今。 在今天的中東,歷史學家還將仲裁的做法追溯到伊斯蘭教的早期。 另一個更進一步的時間戳指向著名的所羅門王使用仲裁。 

我們確信,當英國議會於 1697 年頒布該法令時,現代“仲裁”被正式確定為解決爭端的替代方法。而這個詞本身最早的記錄是莎士比亞在他的“特洛伊羅斯”中1602. 雖然這個詞沒有改變,但它所代表的目的和它所包含的實質似乎正在演變。 

仲裁作為解決複雜、商業和跨國爭議的主要方法的地位並不令人意外——它是法院的一種經過考驗的替代方案。 在阿聯酋等主要商業目的地,仲裁是一種流行的爭議解決方法。 首選是因為它在速度、保密性和靈活性方面提供了比傳統訴訟更多的優勢。
如果其他任何事情也變得明顯,那就是商業安排引起的不僅僅是商業糾紛。 侵犯人權的行為也很典型。 不幸的是,通過傳統訴訟來保護個人人權以防止公司侵犯人權是一個充滿挑戰的過程。 幸運的是,由於仲裁的新發展,這種情況看起來會改變。

仲裁和“權利?”

通常,為了保護您的人權,您必須上法庭。 眾所周知,這是一個緩慢而耗時的過程。 值得慶幸的是,您可以通過仲裁來行使您的權利,而無需踏入法院的四堵牆。

要了解這是如何實現的,最好從 2013 年商業和人權仲裁的出現開始。那一年, 美國最高法院裁定 1789 年美國《外國人侵權法》不適用於美國境外。 該決定基本上拒絕了公司侵犯人權的受害者向美國法院尋求因涉嫌侵犯人權而獲得賠償的權利。

由於這一立場,仲裁可以成為公司和權利人解決爭議的替代性爭議解決方法,這成為主流。 指導這一新領域的是海牙商業和人權仲裁規則 (BHA)(“人權仲裁規則”),於 20th 2020 年 XNUMX 月。

該規則“為與商業活動對人權的影響有關的爭議提供了一套仲裁程序”。 這允許國家、公司實體和個人在國際仲裁庭之前解決與公司和商業夥伴的爭議。

阿聯酋的仲裁格局。

在仲裁方面,阿聯酋正在國際上承擔責任。 在過去的 5 年中,阿聯酋已成為涉及東歐、非洲和亞洲的公司和商業實體的仲裁地的中心舞台。

我們已經看到世界一流機構的出現,這些機構擁有基於最佳國際實踐的現代規則。 得益於黃金標準的仲裁法(聯邦法第 6/2018 號)以及紐約和其他地區公約的締約方地位,阿聯酋正在利用其處理侵犯人權國際仲裁的潛力。

2018 年聯邦仲裁法的頒布有效地改革了阿聯酋的仲裁,廣泛納入了貿易法委員會模式。 由於該法案,阿聯酋的仲裁非常寬鬆,因為它讓當事人在決定仲裁程序時有更大的控制權和靈活性。

此外,它還確立了仲裁員授予臨時措施和作出初步命令的權力。 這在試圖解決涉及侵犯人權的案件時非常重要。

通過阿聯酋仲裁法保護您的權利

商業活動對人權的影響以多種方式發生,並且有據可查。 例如,公司及其承包商的活動可能直接影響環境條件並危及整個社區。

有時,這些影響也是間接的,由供應商和業務合作夥伴在其供應鏈中的行為引起。 總的來說,公司通過以下方式:

  • 環境污染和事故,以及健康和安全故障導致人們健康受損,
  • 在不安全或不健康的條件下工作,
  • 強迫勞動或童工,以及工人工資過低;
  • 社區的非自願或被迫流離失所,
  • 保護資產的保安人員對工人過度使用武力;
  • 對員工的歧視,例如種族、性別或性取向;
  • 當地社區依賴的水源枯竭或污染。

這些只是示例,可能構成與企業相關的人權事務的問題範圍仍然非常廣泛。 

一般而言,只有在當事人同意仲裁的情況下,才能使用仲裁解決合同糾紛。 因此,在公司與其供應商之間的爭議中,仲裁協議通常包含在供應協議中。

如果問題不是由違約引起的,當事人只能通過提交協議將爭議提交仲裁。

因此,對於與企業有關的人權問題,確定同意的方法是在多邊人權協議中插入仲裁條款。

這就是今天普遍使用的。 這方面的一個例子是孟加拉國的消防和建築安全協議。

該協議是在 24 年 2013 月 200 日拉納廣場大樓倒塌(造成數千名工人死亡和重傷)後簽署的,旨在為孟加拉國紡織業的工人制定消防和建築安全計劃。 該協議的簽署方包括 20 大洲 4 個國家的 XNUMX 多個全球品牌、進口商和零售商。

目前尚不清楚個人是否可以直接提起仲裁。 例如,孟加拉協議的締約方以及其他類似的可能是工會和公司。 因此,工人無法直接根據它提起仲裁。 相反,他們通過根據協議建立的程序提出任何有關健康和安全的投訴。

有趣的是,根據迄今為止的協議,兩起侵犯人權的仲裁案件已經曝光。 兩次,雙方均訴諸和解,兩起仲裁的仲裁庭均發出終止令。

阿聯酋經驗豐富的仲裁律師

阿聯酋 2018 年仲裁法帶來的創新為商業和人權仲裁提供了更高的清晰度和確定性。 這些修訂為一般進行仲裁的方式提供了更大的靈活性。

我們的律師事務所專門起草商業和投資仲裁協議,以及在國際仲裁程序中代表客戶。 我們經驗豐富的仲裁律師是您保護您的權利或針對任何違約獲得補救的橋樑。 我們在爭議解決方面的專長使我們能夠在幫助您進行仲裁時充分利用法律。

如果您需要在阿聯酋解決爭議,您很可能會使用仲裁程序。 畢竟,這是阿聯酋法律的基石。 在仲裁中,中立的第三方將裁判並解決爭議。 我們解決眾多業務領域的複雜和跨境法律問題。 我們獨特的文化使我們能夠了解當地市場並駕馭多個司法管轄區。 我們是阿聯酋最好的仲裁律師事務所之一。 今天就聯繫我們!

回到頁首

Law Firms Dubai

How to Use the Law of Arbitration in the UAE to Protect Your Rights?

Federal Arbitration Law In The UAE

Law of Arbitration in the UAE

arbitration lawyers in the UAE

They say arbitration has been in use for centuries, with some of Plato’s writings about the subject surviving till today. In today’s Middle East, historians also trace the practice of arbitration to as far back as the early days of Islam. Another timestamp that stretches even further back points to the use of arbitration by the famous King Solomon. 

We know for sure that modern “Arbitration” was formalized as an alternative method for resolving disputes when the British Parliament enacted the statute in 1697. And that the earliest record of the word itself was by Shakespeare, in his “Troilus” as far back as 1602. While the word hasn’t changed, it appears the purpose it stands for and the substance it holds are evolving. 

Arbitration’s status as the primary method for resolving complex, commercial and transnational disputes is no surprise – it stands as a tested alternative to the courts. Arbitration is a popular dispute resolution method for business in such prime commercial destinations as the UAE. The preference is because it offers several advantages over traditional litigation due to its speed, confidentiality, and flexibility.
If anything else has also become apparent, it is that it is not only business disputes that result from commercial arrangements. Human rights breaches are typical also. Unfortunately, enforcing individual human rights against abuses by corporations through traditional litigation is a fraught process. Fortunately, that looks set to change, thanks to new developments in arbitration.

Arbitration and "Rights?"

Normally, to protects your human rights, you have to go to the courts. As we all know, this is a slow and time-consuming process. Thankfully, you can do enforce your rights via arbitration without needing to step within the four walls of a law court.

To understand how this is possible, it’s best to start with the advent of Business and Human Rights Arbitration in 2013. That year, the U.S. Supreme Court ruled that the U.S. Alien Tort Statute of 1789 didn’t apply outside the United States. The decision essentially denied victims of human rights abuses by companies access to U.S. courts to obtain redress for alleged rights violations.

Thanks to that position, it came into the mainstream that arbitration could be an alternative method of dispute resolution for corporations and rights holders to settle disputes. Guiding this new frontier are the Hague Rules on Business and Human Rights Arbitration (BHA) (“the Rules on Human Rights Arbitration “), launched on the 20th of December, 2020.

The rules “provide a set of procedures for the arbitration of disputes related to the impact of business activities on human rights.” This allows states, corporate entities, and individuals to settle disputes with companies and business partners before an international arbitral tribunal.

The Arbitration Landscape in the UAE.

The UAE is taking the charge internationally when it comes to arbitration. For the last 5 years, the UAE has taken center stage as the seat of arbitrations involving corporate and commercial entities based in Eastern Europe, Africa, and Asia.

We have seen the emergence of world-class institutions with modern rules based on best international practices. Thanks to a gold-standard Arbitration Law (Federal Law No.6/2018) and party status to the New York and other regional conventions, the UAE is utilizing its potential to handle international arbitrations on human rights abuses.

The enactment of the Federal Arbitration law in 2018 effectively reformed Arbitrations in the UAE, broadly incorporating the UNCITRAL Model. Thanks to the Act, Arbitration in the UAE is very permissive in that it gives parties greater rein and flexibility in determining arbitral proceedings.

Additionally, it also establishes the power of Arbitrators to grant interim measures and make preliminary orders. This is very important when trying to resolve a case involving human rights violations.

Protecting Your Rights with UAE Arbitration Law

The effects of business activities on human rights occur in numerous ways and are well documented. For instance, the activities of a company and its contractors may directly impact environmental conditions and endanger whole communities.

Sometimes, these impacts are also indirect, arising out of the actions of suppliers and business partners in their supply chain. On the whole, companies through the following:

  • Environmental pollution and accidents, and health and safety failures resulting in damage to people’s health,
  • Work in unsafe or unhealthy conditions,
  • Forced or child labor, and the underpayment of workers;
  • The involuntary or forced displacement of communities,
  • The deployment of excessive force against workers by security guards protecting assets;
  • Discrimination against employees, for example, by race, gender, or sexuality;
  • Depletion or contamination of water sources on which local communities depend.

These are only examples, and the range of issues that could amount to business-related human rights matters remain very broad. 

As a general rule, using arbitration to resolve a contractual dispute is only possible where the parties involved consent to arbitration. So, in disputes between a company and its supplier, an arbitration agreement is typically incorporated in the supply agreement.

Where the issue does not result from a breach of contract, parties only refer their dispute to arbitration through a submission agreement.

Thus, for business-related human rights issues, it follows that the way to establish consent would be by inserting an arbitration clause in a multilateral agreement for human rights protection.

This is what is generally in use today. One example of this is the Accord on Fire and Building Safety in Bangladesh.

Signed after the Rana Plaza building collapse on the 24th of April 2013 (which killed and critically injured thousands of workers), the accord was created to establish a fire and building safety program for workers in the textile industry in Bangladesh. Signatories to the Accord include over 200 global brands, importers, and retailers in 20 countries across 4 continents.

It is not clear whether individuals can initiate arbitration directly. For instance, parties to the Bangladeshi Accord and presumably others like it are labor unions and companies. As a result, workers are unable to initiate arbitration under it directly. They instead tender any complaints on health and safety through a process established under the accord.

Interestingly, two arbitrations for human rights violations have come to light under the accords to date. Both times, the parties resorted to settlement, and the tribunals in both arbitrations issued termination orders.

Experienced Arbitration Attorneys in the UAE

The innovations brought by the UAE’s 2018 Arbitration Law are providing increased clarity and certainty for Business and human rights arbitration. The revisions are creating room for greater flexibility in the way arbitrations are generally conducted.

Amal Khamis Advocates specializes in drafting commercial and investment arbitration agreements, as well as representing clients in international arbitration proceedings. Our experienced arbitration attorneys are your bridge towards protecting your rights or securing remedies for any breach. Our specialization in dispute resolution allows us to take full advantage of the law when helping to conduct your arbitration.

If you need to solve a dispute in the UAE, chances are you will use an arbitration process. This is, after all, the cornerstone of UAE law. In an arbitration, a neutral third party will referee and resolve the dispute. We solve complex and cross-border legal problems across numerous practice areas. Our unique culture enables us to understand local markets and navigate multiple jurisdictions. We are one of the best arbitration law firms in the UAE. Get in touch with us today!

Scroll to Top